Couch Days

Today is one of those cold overcast days which I have begun to refer to as “couch days”. For many of you that term may evoke thoughts of hot liquids, warm quilts, a good movie or book; and all of this is true, but for me there is one more reason. Days like today are extremely painful. I am forced to sit on the couch with the remote and computer and try not to move much. Every joint in my body screams in agonizing rejection of my movements.

My mind has a funny way of reacting to the pain. It seems to think that when I move, forcing the screams from my joints out of my mouth will help the pain ease or go away. It is comical when you stop to think of it. Listening to these moans escape my lips I wonder what someone else would think could they hear me.

Keep in mind, I am not asking for sympathy, only relaying a fact. In truth, I am in high spirits today. As long as I don’t move I am pretty happy. Talking on the phone, watching TV, doing Ancestry.com; are all good distractions and take my mind off of my uncooperative body. You have to choose to be happy. You are the only one who can affect your mood. You allow or reject others actions and opinions to have a hold on you and have only yourself to rely on.

No one is guaranteed an easy life. We all have struggles and hard times. But those are the reasons we enjoy and appreciate the good times when they come. I don’t like being stuck on the couch. I have a ton of things I would rather be doing today. But life doesn’t give us a choice. It just happens. So I can choose to sit here and be miserable. Feel bad for myself. Cry when the pain gets unbearable. Or I can enjoy the warm cup of coffee next to me. Feel every ounce of love my godmother sewed into the quilt that is keeping me warm, and try to remember that tomorrow is a new day to try again.

20180518_151851Life is what you make it, so choose to make it a good one.

Leave a comment